top of page

Gabe be thy name....


My life is about to change again as I'm moving to Kuala Lumper to take up a new leadership position. As I'm reflecting on how much I've loved Hong Kong an opportunity has presented itself that this girl cannot pass up.

Planning to move countries and thinking about all those things that you have to do to end a life in one country and preparing for the next instalment is not an easy feat. But nothing is harder than having to say goodbye to the one person whom has been by your side for what seems forever and made you feel beautiful everytime you see them. In his presence you are the most special person on earth and he attends to your every need.

My name is Helen and I love my hairdresser.

The hardest thing that there is in life is finding the right hairdresser who knows you, your hair and can keep you coming back time after time after time. I'm sure that this first world problem has happened to anyone and everyone who has moved from one place to another. No matter how many recommendations or online advice forums you read, it doesn't make up for the trial by error that happens and the many, many mistakes you have to fix up.

When I first moved to China I went into a recommended hairdresser in Zhuhai and came out with platium blonde........the 'fix up' on a weekend in Hong Kong toned it down, however I then only had it coloured when I came home to Australia (thanks Ange) for the next 2 years. When I came to Hong Kong a friend recommended a hairdresser that I attended. I walked out with brown hair with grey streaks.

That is when I ran crying into the arms of Gabe at Paul Gerrard. It's been a beautiful relationship for the last 2 years, he's given me wine, we've talked men, life and all between. We've had a lovely time together and now it's time to say farewell and my hair is fabulous.

Would it be ridiculous to do weekends in Hong Kong to get my hair done???

Oh yes, I'll always write about the hard hitting issues as an expat..........

Cheers,

HB


Recent Posts
bottom of page