top of page

A new beginning, again.


Thank god I don't get paid or depend on this blog for a living as I'd be long broke.

I do have a note from my mother stating that I've been very busy with my new life and that my homework can wait.

Where did I start with this new gig? Too big, so made it simpler.....

1. Changed countries: beua/bueacra/bueareauc........bloody paper work and visa stuff

2. Home: set up home

3. Work: set up work

4. Social life: get one

Did it work? Nope and I'm focussing on starting and finishing things as I go. The main thing that one must remember when dealing with another system is to focus on getting your end right so that when you are waiting the extended, long, epic waiting times for the powers that be to get things done, you done what you needed to do.

So numbers 1, 2 and 3 are out of your hands with organisation. It's number 4 that you can do something about, getting a life outside of work, getting a circle of friends besides those you work with. I've joined expat groups such as Internations, the AFL social group, the local Australian association and these groups, like others attract other like minded expats whom want to get out and about on the social scene and meet people. These groups are not just Aussie only and you get to meet with many people doing alot more activities than just having a beer.

So two months down and I have people I can call and ask if they want to catch up, which is a record for me and moving to a new place.

Lightbulb moment: I must be learning.

Cheers,

HB


Recent Posts
bottom of page